Located in the village of Palmyra located at mile marker 253 on the Erie Canal, Historic Palmyra is a must see on any trip within the Erie Canal Corridor. With 5 museums within easy walking distance from Palmyra’s Marina, Palmyra has been a vital community throughout the history of the Erie Canal, and is as important today as it was 200 years ago.
- Phelps General Store and Home, is a step back in time to 1826 when this rental property served those early canaler’s. It has maintained its character and 1826 structure. Through its purchase by Wm. Phelps in 1868 and a transition to family business and home, to its final chapter in 1976 with the depth of the last Phelps. This store is original with necessities and provisions used for canal travel. The building has stopped in time with all the products furnishings, and items of an old Erie Canal general store lining its shelves. This is a one of a kind building with original, authentic items that remained in the store after it closed in 1940 and furnishings from 1868-1976.
- The Erie Canal Depot next door is an 1830 tenant house that housed mules in the basement for travel on the Erie Canal. Two stalls are still visible through photographs, they have an 8’ x 6’ diorama of Lock 60’s double lock system from the enlarged Erie Canal in 1848. Unique mule ramps, whipple tree yokes and photographs of the digging of the new Barge Canal are shared with visitors. This unique museum is being enlarged for the 200th Anniversary of the Erie Canal.
- Our Palmyra Print Shop houses printing presses made in Palmyra, NY from 1856 to 1923 with all necessary type, type blocks, and the lithograph stones from 1820-1972. These printing presses and cutters were shipped on the Erie Canal and taken all over the world. The platen printing press changed printing forever. Come and stamp a card or make a book mark!
- The Palmyra Historical Museum is located just steps up the street and is a 23-room old restaurant and tavern built in 1826 and added to in 1898. This served as a boarding house and hotel from 1826 until the 1950’s. Each room is themed and the collections are vast, covering all parts of American, State, County and community history from its founding in 1789 to today. Every aspect of history from military, dolls, toys, doctors, religions, organizations, and photographic as well as paintings are shown. This building is a treasure of all things for our 228 years. This museum shares the preservation of Palmyra by Historical Palmyra from 1964 to 1976 and its continued historic buildings, look and grandeur.
- The Alling Coverlet Museum holds the largest privately owned, handwoven collection of the American Coverlet and art of weaving. Since July 4th, 1976 this museum has been sharing and featuring at least 70 displayed coverlets each year. All museums are featuring the 200th Anniversary of the Erie Canal and this one is no exception. Their coverlets displayed this year are from 1817, 1825 and through 1876 when the last expansion was made of the original Erie Canal.
These five museums located within the village of Palmyra are a must see and whether you’re driving, biking or boating through the region a stop in Palmyra will find a welcoming community with all the immunities one might be looking for on a vacation. Historic Palmyra is an ongoing sponsor of the Discover The Erie Canal project as well as Canal NY.
Leave a Reply
Historic Palmyra’s 5 Amazing Museums have something for everyone! A Must-See for locals and canal travelers alike .