Listed on the NYS and National Register of Historic Places, the Chittenango Landing Canal Boat Museum is an important part of the history of the Erie Canal. The site sits at the intersection of the historic enlarged Erie Canal and the remnants of the circa 1822 Chittenango Canal.
Originally constructed in 1855, the interpreted site preserved and rebuilt a 3-bay dry dock. Craftsman used the site’s three large, independently functioning bays to build and repair canal boats, maintaining and expanding this vital economic artery until the opening of the Barge Canal in 1918. The site includes the original drydocks and sluiceway, a canal side store, a sawmill, boat shop, blacksmith shop, mule stable, a walk on canal boat exhibit, sunken canal boat remains, a nature trail to a full width aqueduct, picnic areas, access to the Erie Canalway trail and a modern visitor center.
The museum was founded in 1985 by a group of local citizens concerned with preserving heritage. The Chittenango Landing Canal Boat Museum is a wonderful source for historians as well as the public. Workshops, events, and archaeological investigations explore the site’s history and contribute to its ongoing evolution. The museum hosts fall and spring school education programs allowing students to get hands on experience of archeological techniques and tools of the canal era